After a pair of stellar outings on Friday and Saturday, forward Warren Foegele has been named CCM/AHL Player of the Week.

The 21-year-old rookie netted a pair of goals in his pro debut on Oct. 6 against the Hartford Wolf Pack, including the game winner with a minute left in regulation. Foegele then followed that up with another two goals the next night in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, including another game winner, with both coming shorthanded.

“He was great,” said head coach Mike Vellucci. “Two shortys in the second game, that’s pretty remarkable. Warren was in the right spots at the right times, but he worked to get in those spots.”

“I thought our line did really well,” said Foegele. “We had a hard forecheck both games and we were working hard and I just found some lucky bounces for myself. I had some great passes from my linemates and I think as a line we did really well and that contributed to my individual success.”

A third-round draft pick by Carolina in 2014, Foegele was named OHL Playoffs MVP last season after helping lead the Erie Otters to a league title.

Foegele is the eighth player in franchise history to earn AHL Player of the Week honors and the fourth forward, joining Aleksi Saarela last season, Brock McGinn in 2014-15 and Zach Boychuk in 2010-11.
Nicholas Niedzielski
Author: Nicholas NiedzielskiEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Director of Communications Nicholas Niedzielski joined the Checkers in the summer of 2014. A Texas native, he previously worked for the AHL's Texas Stars.

December 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, December 01
2
3
01:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, December 03
4
5
6
7
8
07:05 PM
Date :  Friday, December 08
9
07:05 PM
Date :  Saturday, December 09
10
11
12
07:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, December 12
13
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, December 13
14
15
16
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, December 16
17
01:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, December 17
18
19
20
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, December 20
21
07:00 PM
Date :  Thursday, December 21
22
23
24
25
26
27
07:05 PM
Date :  Wednesday, December 27
28
29
07:05 PM
Date :  Friday, December 29
30
07:05 PM
Date :  Saturday, December 30
31